No, Cristiano Ronaldo DIDN’T appeal for Real Madrid’s winning goal to be ruled out

banner-ronaldo-gesture

Real Madrid beat Athletic Club 2-1 yesterday thanks to Alvaro Morata’s late winner.

The substitute came off the bench to poke home a late winner, at the second attempt, when a set piece fell to him at close-range.

As Morata bundled home his effort, Cristiano Ronaldo stuck his arm in the air and looked to the linesman, awaiting confirmation of the goal.

But, for some curious reason, word spread quickly through social media that Ronaldo was appealing for the goal to be ruled out.

In many ways it would fit with the egotistical nature of Ronaldo’s game. A player who was so desperate to score the winner that twice in this match he ignored teammates in surefire scoring positions to shoot himself.

 

He didn’t score either of those and he is, in fact, enduring one of the worst goalless streaks since joining Real Madrid.

But that doesn’t mean he was asking for Morata’s goal to be chalked off.

Those who have watched the Portuguese regularly in recent years will recognise that pose, an instant semi-Shearer of a reaction.

Write a comment